Lourdes is visited by almost 6 million pilgrims every year! It is the third most important pilgrimage site for Catholics in the world, and has the second largest hotel capacity in France! The Basilica of the Rosary with 15 chapels decorated in Venetian mosaic, and the underground Saint Pie X basilica are two of the most important examples of the local religious heritage. Visit them on the discovery trail which traces the route followed by Bernadette Soubirous through the town.
 
It was in 1858, while collecting wood for the fire, that Bernadette Soubirous saw a lady dressed in white in the Massabielle cave for the first time. Neither her sister, nor the friend with them, saw her. The strange event repeated itself several times.
 
First the Lourdes population rushed in dozens, then by the hundred, to accompany the teenager to the cave.
 
The rumour spread, and on the 25th of March, the Lady revealed to Bernadette that she was the Immaculate Conception.
 
She appeared before Bernadette 18 times between February and July, asking her to tell the priests “that people come here in a procession, and build a chapel.” Religious believers started to flood in, firstly from the local surroundings, then from around France, and the whole world.
 
The Bishop of Tarbes officially recognised the visions in 1862.
 
The rest is history, and the miracle is as economic as it is religious.
 

basilique-de-lourdes.jpg

basilique_du_rosaire-procession_aux_flambeaux_1_hpte_crt_viet.jpg

 
Pope Jean-Paul II (1983 and 2004), Pope Benoît XVI (2008), Presidents of the French Republic (Jacques Chirac in 2004, François Hollande in 2013) and millions of pilgrims from around the world have consecrated Lourdes as one of the capitals of Christianity.
 
Four sanctuaries in the Pyrenees: Lourdes, Pilar at Sarragosse and Torreciudad in Aragon, and Montserrat in Catalonia comprise the “The Marian Route” association.

Lourdes accueille chaque année près de 6 millions de croyants ! C'est le troisième plus important lieu de pèlerinage catholique au monde et aussi la deuxième ville hôtelière de France ! La Basilique du Rosaire et ses quinze chapelles ornées de mosaïques vénitiennes et la Basilique souterraine Saint Pie X constituent deux des plus importants éléments du patrimoine religieux local, qu'un sentier d'interprétation fait découvrir, retraçant le parcours de Bernadette Soubirous dans la ville.
 
C'est en 1858, alors qu'elle ramasse du bois pour préparer le feu que Bernadette Soubirous voit pour la première fois, dans la grotte de Massabielle, une dame vêtue de blanc. Ni sa sœur, ni l'amie qui l'accompagne ne l'aperçoivent, mais l'étrange événement se reproduit plusieurs fois.
 
Les Lourdais se pressent par dizaines d'abord, puis par centaines pour accompagner l'adolescente vers la grotte.
 
La rumeur enfle et le 25 mars, la Dame révèle à Bernadette qu'elle est l'Immaculée Conception.
 
Entre février et juillet, elle apparaîtra dix-huit fois à Bernadette et lui demandera de dire aux prêtres « qu'on vienne ici en procession et qu'on y bâtisse une chapelle. » Les croyants commencent à affluer, des environs d'abord, puis de toute la France et du monde entier.
 
En 1862, l'évêque de Tarbes reconnaît officiellement les apparitions.
 
La suite on la connaît et le miracle est tout autant économique que religieux.
 

 
Les papes Jean-Paul II (1983 et 2004), Benoît XVI (2008), des Présidents de la République (Jacques Chirac en 2004, François Hollande en 2013) et des millions de pèlerins venus du monde entier ont consacré Lourdes comme l'une des capitales de la Chrétienté.
 
Quatre sanctuaires des Pyrénées, Lourdes, en Aragon ceux du Pilar à Sarragosse et de Torreciudad et Montserrat en Catalogne ont créé ensemble l'association « Routes mariales ».