With around 2 million tourists visiting each year, the Cité of Carcassonne represents a landmark of Middle Ages history in Europe. A walk along the lanes which lead to the Comtal Castle will make one travel through five centuries, from the golden age of those who made Carcassonne a powerful stronghold to its decline, followed by its revival at the end of the 19th century. Nowadays, it offers a rather peaceful tour, with breathtaking views on the Aude Pyrenees.

 
 

A glimpse of it from the motorway, and you might think you are on a movie set, as it looks so perfect. The Cité of Carcassonne remains one of the most beautiful examples of a fortified town.

carcassonne_1_copyright_paul_palau.jpg

Carcassonne’s history has always been intertwined with that of local borders.
 
After the fall of the Roman Empire, it is taken over by the Visigoths and becomes one of the border cities north of Septimania.
During the Middle Ages, it belongs to the Trencavel Viscount family but in 1209, following the Crusade launched by Pope Innocent III against the Cathars and their followers, the Cité is besieged by Simon de Montfort troops.
 
Following the surrender of Viscount Raymond Roger de Trencavel, Carcassonne becomes Montfort’s property, then that of the King of France. From 1226 it turns into a royal jurisdiction and some important works start in order to fortify the Castle. A second line of fortifications is built around it and from then on, it takes the appearance of modern day Carcassonne. 

 

The castle hosts a garrison on a permanent basis and at the end of the XIII Century, the Cité acts as a border between the kingdoms of France and Aragon. However, the Treaty of the Pyrenees in 1659 moves the border line southbound and Carcassonne loses its military significance; it is even downgraded to second class fortified town during the First Empire.
 
Hardly any maintenance is undertaken, and it slowly deteriorates until the Monarchy of July’s authorities decides to restore it, commissioning famous architect Eugene Viollet-le-Duc. He will give the Cité its current shape. In 1997 it was added to the UNESCO’s World Heritage Sites list.
 

carcassonne_2.jpg

Avec près de 2 millions de visiteurs annuels, la Cité de Carcassonne reste un des hauts-lieux du Moyen Âge en Europe. En arpentant les ruelles qui mènent jusqu'au château comtal, on parcourt près de cinq siècles d'histoire, de ceux qui ont contribué à la puissance de Carcassonne jusqu'à son déclin, puis son renouveau à la fin du XIXe. Aujourd'hui c'est une visite des plus pacifiques qu'elle nous offre, nous réservant un panorama exceptionnel sur les Pyrénées audoises.
 
 

Quand on l'aperçoit depuis l'autoroute, on pourrait penser à un décor de cinéma, tellement tout est parfait. La Cité de Carcassonne reste l'un des plus beaux témoignages de ville fortifiée.

carcassonne_1_copyright_paul_palau.jpg

Depuis toujours, l'histoire de Carcassonne se confond avec celle des frontières.
 
Après la chute de l'empire romain, elle tombe sous l'autorité des Wisigoths et devient une des villes-frontières au nord de la Septimanie.
Au Moyen Âge elle appartient à la famille des vicomtes de Trencavel mais, en 1209, à la suite de la croisade lancée par le pape Innocent III contre les cathares et leurs soutiens, la ville est assiégée par les troupes de Simon de Montfort.
 
Après la reddition du vicomte Raymond Roger de Trencavel, Carcassonne devient possession de Montfort puis du roi de France. À partir de 1226 et de la création d'une sénéchaussée royale de vastes travaux sont entrepris pour fortifier le château.
Une deuxième ligne de fortifications est  édifiée.

 

C'est alors que la Cité prend la physionomie que nous lui connaissons.
 
Le château accueille une garnison permanente et, à la fin du XIIIe siècle, la Cité devient une forteresse royale à la frontière entre les royaumes de France et d'Aragon, mais à la suite du Traité des Pyrénées (1659), la ligne de frontière est déplacée vers le Sud et Carcassonne perd sa raison militaire, et elle est même déclassée en place forte de seconde catégorie sous le 1er Empire.
 
L'entretien est minimum et la Cité dépérit jusqu'à la Monarchie de Juillet qui entreprend de la restaurer et confie les travaux à Eugène Viollet-le-Duc qui lui redonne peu ou prou son allure du XIIIe siècle. Depuis 1997, elle est classée au Patrimoine mondial par l'Unesco.
 

carcassonne_2.jpg